Emanuel County Georgia Bicentennial Celebration

Emanuel County Georgia Bicentennial Celebration

On December 08, 2012 at 11:00 a.m., on the lawn of the Emanuel County Courthouse, there will be a celebration and dedication of a monument to commemorate the 200th anniversary of the creation of Emanuel County Georgia. Judge John Ellington of the Georgia Court of Appeals will be the keynote speaker for the dedication. There will also be celebration events planned at the Emanuel County Farm and Home Museum.

Emanuel County, Georgia was created on December 10, 1812 from portions of Bulloch and Montgomery counties, by legislative Acts of the General Assembly of the State of Georgia. Later, the following counties were created from portions of Emanuel County: Johnson (1858), Jenkins and Toombs (1905), Candler (1914), and Treutlen (1918).

In 1822, legislative Acts of the General Assembly of the State of Georgia created a county seat for Emanuel County, Georgia and directed the site be named Swainsborough, which was later shortened to the name of Swainsboro. In 1854, the name of Swainsboro was changed to that of Paris, but was again changed back to Swainsboro in 1857.

Emanuel County, Georgia consists of approximately 690 square miles in area. In 2000, Emanuel County, Georgia had a population of approximately 21,837, while the city of Swainsboro had a population of approximately 6,943.

Recently, the following Senate Resolution of the State of Georgia government was passed commemorating the bicentennial of Emanuel County, Georgia:

12 LC 93 1000
Senate Resolution 1039
By: Senators Hill of the 4th and Stone of the 23rd


Recognizing and commending Emanuel County on its bicentennial; and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, on December 6 and 12 of 1812, the County of Emanuel was established by legislative Acts of the General Assembly of the State of Georgia; and

WHEREAS, Emanuel County was created out of territory originally in parts of Montgomery County and Bulloch County; and

WHEREAS, named in honor of former Georgia Governor David Emanuel, it was the 17th county established in the State of Georgia; and

WHEREAS, Emanuel County is a leading producer of forest products; and

WHEREAS, Emanuel County is the home of East Georgia College, a unit of the University System of Georgia; and

WHEREAS, the City of Swainsboro was designed as the County Seat by the General Assembly in 1822; and

WHEREAS, Emanuel County is situated at the crossroads of the great South, being at the intersection of two national highways: United States Highway Number 1, running North from the United States and Canada border to Key West, Florida; and United States Highway Number 80, from Tybee Island, Georgia, to the Pacific Ocean at San Diego, California; and

WHEREAS, the County of Emanuel has flourished as a center for religious, educational, and cultural institutions; and

WHEREAS, in commemoration of Emanuel County’s 200th anniversary, the county is celebrating its bicentennial year of existence in 2012 with the theme “Celebrating 200 Years of Shared Heritage”; and

WHEREAS, Emanuel County continues to look with optimism toward the future while keeping the proud memory of its beginning close to its heart to share with succeeding generations.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body recognize and salute Emanuel County as it celebrates its bicentennial in 2012.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the public and the press.